February Plans

I am addicted to list making.  My desk, purse, notebooks, cell phone are littered with lists on note cards, post-its, receipts.  Some of these (okay a good number) are lists of books.  I like seasonal reading, and I find joy in making lists of the perfect books for each month, or period in my life.  This doesn’t mean I stick to them, of course.  I’ve been known to possess a wandering eye.  I also tend to over-stuff my lists, making it impossible for me to finish all of them in the given time period, so I don’t worry about reading them all.  I view them as guidelines or options, not a strict syllabus.  So instead of leaving my February list on a note card, I’ve decided to share it (with pictures!).

The above three I very much want to get to this month.  I’ve had Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust on my To Read list for years.  I think it’s time to start.  Virginia Woolf’s The Waves I’ve been meaning to read for about a year, and The Diary of Virginia Woolf: Volume One 1915-1919 I want to begin reading, although I don’t know that I expect to finish within the month.

These, and the following, were selected with the loose theme of love in mind, with a few deviations.

  • The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford
  • Sexing the Cherry by Jeanette Winterson
  • Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin
  • What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver
  • Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami
  • Eros the Bittersweet by Anne Carson
  • Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • What I Loved by Siri Hustvedt

  • First Love by Ivan Turgenev
  • Light Boxes by Shane Jones (Takes place during a perpetual February)
  • The Lost Books of the Odyssey by Zachary Mason (Retelling of the recently finished The Odyssey)
  • Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen (I’ve been wanting to read more Austen.)
  • Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison (Also been wanting more Morrison)
  • Birthday Stories edited by Haruki Murakami (My birthday is in February.)
  • A Small Place by Jamaica Kincaid

Others I considered that didn’t make the cut this time: The History of Love by Nicole Krauss, Geek Love by Katherine Dunn, Liars in Love by Richard Yates, and Chilly Scenes of Winter by Ann Beattie.

So, have you read any of these?  Which should I start with?

This entry was posted in Plans. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February Plans

  1. tuulenhaiven says:

    Gosh, I’m a list addict too…! So fun, so satisfying to make and keep. 🙂

    Going through your photos… I am on the opposite end of In Search of Lost Time – the last volume. I’ve been reading Proust for over two years now, and it has been amazing. I hope you enjoy it (and I think Swann’s Way is still my favorite volume). I also enjoyed The Waves when I read it last February. I’ll be curious to see what you think. I read The Pursuit of Love last summer and liked it. I’ve been meaning to read the Raymond Carter book for over a year – thanks for the reminder! Also, Happy Birthday!

  2. If you mean keep to look at later and not keep to hold yourself to, I agree. =) I’m so glad to hear you love Swann’s Way and The Waves, I just need to get started! Thanks for the birthday wishes!

Leave a Reply

